*This post may contain affiliate links, meaning if you buy something through one of these links, I may earn a small commission (at no extra cost to you!). Please see my disclosure.
 
Lost Girl by Holly Kamier
Small-town investigative reporter, Shelby Day, is determined to hunt a killer.
3/5

I received a copy of Lost Girl in exchange for my honest review.
All opinions are, of course, my own. I’d like to thank RABT Book Tours for including me on this tour.

Title

Lost Girl: A Shelby Day Novel

Author

Holly Kammier is the international best-selling author of Kingston Court, Choosing Hope, and Lost Girl.

Lost Girl and Choosing Hope are cross-over novels to Kingston Court, with overlapping characters and locations.

Co-Founder of Acorn Publishing, the UCLA honors graduate is an accomplished writing coach and a former journalist who has worked everywhere from CNN in Washington, D.C. and KCOP-TV in Los Angeles, to the NBC affiliate in small-town Medford, Oregon.

The California native and mother of teenage boys, lives in San Diego, California close to her large family (she is one of eight siblings) and friends.

Connect with her on her websiteFacebookGoodReads, or Instagram.

Book Details

Publication Date: January 5, 2020
Publisher: Acorn Publishing, LLC
ISBN: 9781947392571

Famous First Words

“Shelby, take two steps to your life. I want to get the mountains in the background behind the crime scene.”

Book Description

AN APPALLING ACT OF VIOLENCE AND AN UNSOLVED DOUBLE MURDER.

SMALL-TOWN INVESTIGATIVE REPORTER, SHELBY DAY, IS DETERMINED TO HUNT A KILLER.

As her search draws closer to uncovering the twisted truth, she begins receiving ominous warnings to stay quiet and drop the story. The young journalist is in danger. Her cameraman and best friend, a person with his own secret past, says he wants to protect her. But Shelby is headstrong and dodging anything that could lead to love. She can’t allow anyone to distract her as she fights for the two women who deserve justice.

READ THIS NEXT  Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands – The Cold Vanish Book Review

She never expects along the way she’ll have to stop and save herself.

Ticktock… If Shelby doesn’t solve the crime soon, she’ll become the killer’s next victim.

“Lost Girl is a compulsive thrill-ride that reads as if it’s been pulled straight from the headlines. Kammier’s journalism background brings undeniable authenticity to a novel that has it all– a love story, a murder mystery, and a real-life introduction into the distinctive world of television news.”
-CAROLINE MITCHELL, New York Times best-selling author

This book is for anyone who loves:
Young Adult love stories
Murder Mystery
Redemption
Books with journalism elements
Intended for a mature YA audience

Fans of Veronica Mars, In The Woods, and One Of Us Is Lying, will love this novel. 

My Thoughts & Takeaways

Lost Girl is the first of what I anticipate to be a series about investigative reporter, Shelby Day. After school, she takes a job in a small town to pay her dues. After two local girls are murdered, she makes it her mission to solve the case no matter what it takes. 

This book really drew me in with the cover, I won’t lie. And, it kept my attention with the way the story began. It was a quick and altogether enjoyable read. 

I will say I felt like I had figure out the killer pretty early on and was going to be quite annoyed if I was right, but surprisingly, I was not. The killer was almost too surprising if that makes sense…? 

I noticed many of the negative reviews revolved around the likability of the main character, but Shelby didn’t really bother me that much. I have a bit of a soft spot for women who know what they want and go after it.  And, while yes, she did make some dumb decisions,  but don’t we all? If anything, I felt like those decisions made her more realistic. 

READ THIS NEXT  Hurricane Vignette by Avery Kilpatrick - Poetry for Mental Health Awareness

That being said, I was not a fan of her love interest – Jack. He felt very controlling, manipulative, and just icky to me. 

All in all, I enjoyed this fast pace read, but I’d love to see how the Shelby Day series continues in the future!

Sharing is caring!

Ashley's bookshelf: currently-reading

Red Hail
tagged: currently-reading
How to Be an Antiracist
tagged: currently-reading

goodreads.com

THE GOOD STUFF

Join me on Goodreads
! See my favorite books on Bookshop and Amazon.
See more posts on plants, books, or coffee.
Ashley Hubbard

Ashley Hubbard

Ashley Hubbard is a blogger and freelance writer based in Nashville, Tennessee focusing on sustainability, travel, books, plants, coffee, veganism, mental health, and more. She has two other websites - wild-hearted.com and odditiesandcuriositiestravel.com

Leave a Reply