she drives me crazy
*This post may contain affiliate links, meaning if you buy something through one of these links, I may earn a small commission (at no extra cost to you!). Please see my disclosure.
 
She Drives Me Crazy by Kelly Quinland
High school nemeses fall in love in this queer YA rom com.

I’d like to thank Roaring Book Press and Netgalley for so generously providing me a copy of She Drives Me Crazy.
All opinions are, of course, my own.

Title

She Drives Me Crazy

Book Details

Genre: YA LGBTQ+ Romance
Publication Date: April 20, 2021
Length: 304 pages
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
ISBN: 9781250209153
Content Warning(s): homophobia, alcohol consumption

Book Description

High school nemeses fall in love in this queer YA rom-com perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuisten.

After losing spectacularly to her ex-girlfriend in their first game since their break up, Scottie Zajac gets into a fender bender with the worst possible person: her nemesis, the incredibly beautiful and incredibly mean Irene Abraham. Things only get worse when their nosey, do-gooder moms get involved and the girls are forced to carpool together until Irene’s car gets out of the shop.

Their bumpy start only gets bumpier the more time they spend together. But when an opportunity presents itself for Scottie to get back at her toxic ex (and climb her school’s social ladder at the same time), she bribes Irene into playing along. Hijinks, heartbreak, and gay fake-dating scheme for the ages. From author Kelly Quindlen comes a new laugh-out-loud romp through the ups and downs of teen romance.

Author

Kelly wrote her first story, a gripping tale about the Easter Bunny when she was six years old. Her traditional debut, Late to the Party, releases April 21, 2020, from Macmillan/Roaring Brook Press. She is also the author of the self-published novel Her Name in the Sky, which was featured on BuzzFeed, Bustle, and AfterEllen.

READ THIS NEXT  The Death of Vivek Oji by Akwaeke Emezi

Kelly graduated from Vanderbilt University with a degree in English Literature and American Studies. She spent two years teaching middle school math with Teach for America in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. She currently lives in Atlanta, where she is on the leadership team of a non-profit for Catholic parents with LGBT children.

You can follow her on her websiteInstagramTwitter, and Goodreads

My Thoughts & Takeaways

She Drives Me Crazy by Kelly Quinland is a sapphic YA rom-com that includes an enemes-to-lovers trope, basketball, cheerleading, and more.

Basketball player Scottie wants payback after her girlfriend dumped her right before transferring schools and cheerleading captain Irene are arch-rivals that just got into a fender bender.

This was like an 80s-style rom-com meets a lovely LGBTQ+ story. What we get is a realistic look into high school relationships but with queer romance, interracial couples, and learning how to have healthy boundaries. And, none of the harmful tropes like co-dependency or token diversity.

Highly recommend this one!

Sharing is caring!

Ashley's bookshelf: currently-reading

Red Hail
tagged: currently-reading
How to Be an Antiracist
tagged: currently-reading

goodreads.com

THE GOOD STUFF

Join me on Goodreads
! See my favorite books on Bookshop and Amazon.
See more posts on plants, books, or coffee.
Ashley Hubbard

Ashley Hubbard

Ashley Hubbard is a blogger and freelance writer based in Nashville, Tennessee focusing on sustainability, travel, books, plants, coffee, veganism, mental health, and more. She has two other websites - wild-hearted.com and odditiesandcuriositiestravel.com

Leave a Reply